About Us


1. Ownership and Control

System of Control / Hierarchy of Authority

  • Edwin Kiagbodo Clark Foundation is the Proprietor/Owner of the University and it is the highest level of authority
  • The Board of Trustees handles the affairs of the University on behalf of the Foundation and stands in for the Visitor of the University
  • The University Governing Council superintends over the finances of the University and ensures good governance
  • The University Senate is supreme over academic matters

2. Organisation and Administration


3. Philosophy and Objectives of the Universities

Briefly state the Philosophy and Objectives of the University

Edwin Clark University was licensed on 7th May, 2015 as the 60th private University in Nigeria. It is located at its Campus A take-off site in Kiagbodo, Burutu Local Government Area of Delta State and it commenced academic activities on 15th Sept, 2015. The motto of the University is Knowledge for Development; its Vision is “Strengthening, expanding and improving educational facilities and methods to enable individuals fully realize their potentials, conserve and increase knowledge and enrich our culture”; and the Mission of the University is, “the Nurturing of knowledge targeted towards addressing the developmental challenges of the Niger Delta in particular, Nigeria and the wider global community. The University has structured its academic programmes giving accent to entrepreneurial disciplines and science for the first phase of its operations and technology for subsequent phases

In ensuring strong academic programmes with international relevance, right from its inception, Edwin Clark University had sought to establish linkages with a number of world-renowned institutions of higher learning. Consequent upon this drive, the University has succeeded in establishing linkages with Coventry University, Coventry, UK; Chicago State University, Chicago, USA, and Reinhardt University, Waleska, Georgia, USA. Plans are currently underway to also form academic linkages with The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel, and Sumy State University, Ukraine.